CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

CACTUS FLOWER

A couple of weeks ago I bought a small pot with four tiny cacti in it and one of them has started flowering. I've always suspected flowers on cacti in shops of being fake but this has appeared since it's been in my kitchen and there seem to be more buds emerging.

As I typed the words of the heading a memory from teenagehood came back of a perfume called Cactus Flower (I think) and even a fleeting memory of the scent itself. I did a quick google search but couldn't find anything that might have been about nearly 60 years ago (or within the price range of a 14-ish-year-old's pocket money) so it was probably Avon or Goya or somesuch, long discontinued. Having said that, I did used to wear Vent Vert by Balmain, but I think that must have been a Christmas present from my parents. Does anyone else remember Cactus Flower?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.