David J. Rose

By djrose007

Coleford

Today was Coleford Carnival of Transport. It's a town in the Forest of Dean Gloucestershire and this is an annual event held on Easter Monday.
It was a very dirty ride in due to very wet roads but the rest of the day was mostly dry, apart from when it was my turn to take a stint on the Disabled Car Park, making sure only people with disabled cards used it and directing others to the alternative car parks.
It used to be a massive show of vehicles of any description but in recent years there has been a decrease in the amount of exhibitors, particularly steam engines (tractions and rollers), larger vintage trucks and coaches. While on car park duty I was wearing a high vis jacket and sporting a tag saying 'Official Steward' and I must have had about 20 people come to me to ask where all the trucks and coaches were as 'They always used to be down this road'. Yes, they used to be, now it's just parked cars. They were disappointed but it was the same last year and I'm sure the wet weather forecast put off the exhibitors.
Lets hope it's a better turnout next year as Easter is later in April, maybe better weather, hopefully.
I don't know yet how much was donated on our RBL Riders poppy appeal stand, but I think we did quite well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.