mbox

By mbox

I cried a river...over you

First and foremost, in the local churchyard, is the large cross monument to fisherman, Andrew Fawcus, and his three sons aged between late teens and thirties, who "accidentally drowned withing sight of their own home" in 1885.

DDW July challenge - First

A very poignant reminder that Love is....letting your fisherman go off out to sea. I know all about that, though mine has returned for the day!

Heartfreek July challenge - Love is...

Then we come to the second, smaller stone, marking the graves of 3 more of Andrew and Eliza's children:-

"Thomas, who died age 6 weeks in 1852,
Margaret, died in infancy,
Ann, died age 16 years"

It was a hard life! I wonder if Eliza lived to grieve over all this tragedy.
As july 1st is also an anniversary of a tragedy in my life too, this blip is becoming increasingly relevant to the day!

tg july challenge - Cry me a river.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.