Another Day

By BlackTulip

Bee Fly

I walked up to my friend's this morning for a natter and were joined by our friend from the next village (where we all used to live).  The main topic of conversation seemed to revolve around grandchildren who are generally picky eaters.  I don't remember this ever being a problem for us or our children.  We ate what we were given and couldn't leave the table until we'd finished, or couldn't have pudding (which didn't matter to me because I don't have a sweet tooth).

However, I do remember mum saying that I would happily have lived on bread and water as a toddler.

JJ cleaned out the tit box at the weekend, removing one skeleton and a complete egg.  I do remember that there was a lot of activity in the nest but one day it ceased.  Maybe one of the parents was predated.

Anyway box cleaned and repainted, and then put back on the garage wall.  Today has been a frenzy of activity with nest material being brought in by great tit(s).  

This morning the crows were still annoying one or more ravens and also chased off a buzzard that had landed in the orchard.  They are very territorial, which is probably why I haven't seen the kestrels recently.

A quick foray over the back this afternoon.  I was hoping to catch a glimpse of a chiffchaff but no such luck.  I did see a Brimstone and Comma but as it's Tiny Tuesday I've gone for the bee fly.  I've also added an extra of the old Great Tit egg so you can see how small it is.

I put some hedgehog food out under a container last night and it had gone this morning.  It could be a rat of course, but I hope not.

Camera Club tonight when we have a Zoom talk by Polina Plotnikova.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.