Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Early 20th century

Many of the empty shops in the village have large photos of village scenes in their windows mostly from the early years of the 20th century when the village what is in its heyday. Some of the photos are of the actual shops and their proprietors standing in front of their businesses all those years ago. I find them fascinating. If you ignore the clothing, the similarities between the activities then and now are marked. People still dance in the square. The Cobla band still plays for the Sardane and at local events. It has been a busy day. I went down to the market very early to be back in time for coffee, having been invited by our neighbours. I then went to the tennis lesson and to French conversation. I had a bit of a headache so was prepared just to relax and listen but our francophone was not there so it fell to me to animate the session.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.