Home

A cloudy start but glorious afternoon. Sadly no opportunity for a cycle ride today, but I hope I can make up for it tomorrow.

After taking Alice to school, I spent 3 hours - yes, 3 whole hours! - cleaning and tidying the house. Oh boy, how I hate tidying and cleaning. I have to admit though, it looks a lot better now, although as the photo testifies, I didn't do much to the dresser. I thought today would be a good day to blip the inside of the house, especially as I've hardly left it today (only the 4 school trips). Tidy to me means it's possible to see the table tops. :-)

The reason for the big-clean was that I had a client coming after lunch. There is no other room I could use - none appropriate anyway. I don't normally like seeing clients privately, or at home, but this is my first and last here in France. I'm thinking now that maybe I could have advertised myself to the British community. This client was willing to drive for an hour and a half to get here, so maybe others would have too. A bit late to be thinking that now me thinks. On the other hand, I couldn't have coped with having to keep the house clean and tidy all the time!

I walked up to meet Alice from school, and chatted (if that's the right word) with la patronne in the bar, over a coffee. We talked about the weather, our children, our move back to Guernsey, and I asked her if she knew anyone in the village who could help us with looking after the house and garden when we leave. She suggested the nice hard-working man who looks after the village. That would be great if he would do it.

Alice bought a packet of Smarties - which is what she's eating in the photo. Later she told me another of her friends wants to come to the "party on Saturday". I shall have to send out the invites tomorrow (before Olga has checked my French) to try to stop anyone turning up! The invites give the real date, which will be a few days before we leave in August.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.