JanetH

By JanetH

"Two"-whit tu-whoo

Tuesday 2nd April 2024

We went to the National Centre for Birds of Prey at Duncombe Park, Helmsley today. I think it is one of the best centres I've been to and I will certainly be going again. As well as the birds in the aviaries, we were able to watch two flying displays, of multiple birds, and a bonus display by a wild red kite. One of the eagles in the first display decided it didn't want to perform and flew straight to a tree in the car park. It took them ages to persuade it to return, as predicted after the end when most people had left. We stayed and I captured the picture of it coming in to land  on the post. 

Rather a lot of photos to process (702), many of which will be deleted. This is my first quick run through to get a selection for Facebook. Here are just two different owls. The one on the left is a burrowing owl, which I had never heard of before. He was tiny and demonstrated how he went in and out of the burrows in the ground, see extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.