Berger

By Berger

The Hungarian Lady

Just an ordinary wee sculpture, for my blip placed in our window. It means a bit more to me and Mrs B than just a wee figure. We bought it in Budapest 40 years ago. I was travelling often in the East European countries at that time. One time when Mrs B came with me to Budapest, my parents were babysitters at home to our oldest son Anders. He was 6 -7 years old that time. As a gift to my parents for the babysitting, we bougth this sculpture in Budapest. The shop where we bought it, was not allowed to accept any West European currency. I couldn`t find any bank to change money so I walked in the street pretending I was looking for something. Didn`t take long before an illegal money changer approached me. I got the local currence and he got some West German marks to a very good rate. Luckily no police saw us. However, I got this wee Hungarian Lady that we gave to, and have since inherited from my parents. Cannot look at it without remembering its history.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.