Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

Another wet morning. I was almost at the park when I was aware of a heron flying overhead. I turned to see as it started to land on the pavement. I kept on walking knowing it would follow me to the park. Turned out it was Jekyll. Obviously wanting to be fed ahead of the others. He landed in the park but was joined almost immediately by another 5 including the adult male, the little female (pictured), the male with the dark patch (which is fading), and two others. I started feeding them and there was more agression than usual, nothing serious just more of it. I moved to the slope and they all followed and the one I think my be the original one joined. There were now 7 of them. I got them all fed, fed the coot and the crows and was a good bit of my way down the road when I heard a commotion. I looked up and Jekyll was flying overhead. However some gulls started chasing him and he made for the park again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.