MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Our magnolia before the weather spoiled it!

I took this in the morning as I was on my way out for a walk. I was combining my walk with some geocache maintenance. One of mine in Taylor Park had a DNF on it recently so I thought I'd check it. It had gone. The vegetation which had been climbing all over the sign, thus hiding the cache, had been cut back - removed completely. There was no pint placing another cache in the same spot as it would now stick out like a sore thumb so I popped one in nearby, nestled in thick, severed ivy stems at the side of a tree just off the path. However, I had no GPSr with me to measure the new coords and I couldn't get maps to work on my phone - maybe the weather was the problem, it was chucking down.
I went to check on my other cache int he park and that was missing too. I don't know how as it was firmly wedged in ivy behind a wall but not everyone is careful to replace caches properly. I popped a new one in.
I walked back through the park to the main road and a little way along it in the opposite direction to home and headed for the first bus stop. Again, no internet on my phone so I couldn't tell if the 89 was due or not. I put my phone away, got my bus pass out and then the 89 arrived!
After lunch I drove back to the park to measure the coords and amended the cache page.
Had a chat in the park to one of the ladies who had helped me when I fell over not long ago. She was feeding monkey nuts to the squirrels and some were taking the nuts from her hand. 
Had little sleep last night - was lying awake for ages, perhaps due to the torrential rain I could hear, but at any rate, Terry was sleepless as well! I know I was still awake a good while after 2am. Consequently, late afternoon I had to have a nap. Terry didn't need one as he'd stayed in bed this morning when I was up - I have to get up by a certain time to take medication which needs to be exactly 12 hours apart.
Later today, but before sunset, I glanced out at the magnolia and loads of petals had blown off. It has lasted well though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.