From My Everyday Life

By WK

Frustrated Ghost in the Machine

I'm stuck at home today with a sick and restless dog, trying to start the next chapter in a book project. Feeling frustrated. No time or energy for something truly creative. So I took a quick image of my home office, tarted it up with HDR, and super-imposed an old image of a typewriter and whiskey bottle on it.

While in Maine in 2010, taking pictures at a junk shop, I found the old typewriter sitting beside an old whiskey bottle. I didn't have to move a think. I've always liked the B&W I took. It has the feeling of an old "film noir" movie, the romance of the cynical, aging journalist banging out the truth on a old Underwood, hating the world.

Writing a book on recent US political history doesn't have much romance for me, at least not at the moment, especially when I'm at the beginning of the project, not the well into it with a sense of where it's going and whether it's any good. Frustrated. Weary. Cranky. Perhaps not so far from the cynical journalist.

The result is a hodgepodge as an image, but it reflects my feeling of the gap between the romance of writing and the reality. Still, I got my image for the day done, so not all is a loss!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.