RMH

By RMH

Full moon

It was a perfect night. Clear skies, very bright full moon and I needed to get some more distance done. So, I messaged Ellie to see if she could swim with me. She could! :D
As I drove to pick her up, I watched a bank of cloud rolling over from the side. By the time we arrived at ER the cloud shrouded the moon with a halo and by the time we reached the waters edge the moon was completely obscured by the cloud and it was very dark. And a wind had picked up.
Swimming to the bouy wasn’t much fun. Couldn’t see it till it was quite close and the water and wind just smacked my face. I thought of that Naya film where she swam gaping between South and North America out at sea for days, nothing to see, unknown creatures below (not all friendly) and wondering why anyone would do that to themselves. But here was I in a very minute way, doing similar!
I did two loops and felt ok in the water.
Getting out the wind very quickly chilled me down and big shivers set in and my jaw stiffened up so much that I could bearly open it!
As we drove back to Ellie’s, the cloud cleared and the moon shone and the stars twinkled! Typical!!
Haha! It was a good swim though and I enjoyed Ellie’s company.
The photo is from Ellie, I used my tow float as I knew she’s a dipper rather than a swimmer so she could see where I was. I like the ‘other earthly’ feel about it…even the tilt! Haha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.