CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Unboxing my iPhone

I didn’t need to but I wanted to have this phone, mostly because of its camera’s potential. I’ve had a small iPhone for a couple of years and been delighted with it, but realised the many advantages of an upgrade.

I went to an Apple Store near Bristol and as usual was treated very well and learnt from the young assistants who weren’t pushy at all. Within an hour I came away with a completely new phone which accurately updated from my former one seamlessly.

You might have guessed that I’m an Apple fan, having first used one in 1989, and then bought my first one in 1992, when 16 MB of RAM was regarded as a lot! I’ve had quite a few ever since and always found the upgrades well worthwhile. I now have a 15" MacBook Pro laptop, a 2008 iMac desktop which still works fine if slowly, a MacMini using one of the new Apple Silicon M2 processors and now a new iPhone which talks to them all. I’m very lucky and now I've got a learning curve ahead of me, once again.

I’ve blipped my first photo from this phone as it is a record of the always fascinating process of unboxing an Apple product. I’ve kept quite a lot of the boxes over the years as they are often classics of design in my opinion. I even found my relatively big 80 GB iPod a couple of days ago, which I hadn’t used for many years. I pressed Play and it worked perfectly and the battery was in good condition. It has 7979 tracks on it and room for more. I shall start listening. I just wish it had Bluetooth but I’ll live, plug it in to an amplifier, and press Shuffle. 

It was the iPod that Steve Jobs first introduced in 2001, followed a few years later by the iPod Touch, that became the forerunners of the 'iPhone' concept. My iPhone now of course does everything that the iPod did and I’ll be adding lots of music to it imminently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.