Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Small Rapids

La Vuachère is a small river that runs through the whole city and starts higher up in the neighbourhood above mine.  It runs through a forest corridor down to the lake and is about 8 kilometres long. The walk along the river from its highest part down to the lake takes about 3 hours on foot.  I've done it once. Some parts are quite steep.

I do like the small rapids along the natural trail. There is a real woodland feel. I took this mid-afternoon in my neighbourhood, about 20 minutes on foot from my home. It was quite muddy.

When I photograph running water, I like to keep it looking like real water, not like some vaporous mist lacking in substance and clarity. I know that it's 'fashionable' to take pictures of running water with a very slow shutter speed.  Since when did photographers think that they could improve on nature by making it look artificial? 

I think I'm an old-fashioned photographer who isn't a fan of sliders and special effects. I like reality with a hint of dreaminess and perhaps a touch of romantism!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.