cyclops

By cyclops

Gemini Titan II

I spent today at the Kennedy Space Centre.

Loved seeing the vast Vehicle Assembly Building, the crawler and Pads 39A and B out on the cape, but the real stars were the rockets.

I loved seeing the Saturn V, which was every bit as impressive as I imagined.  The shuttle Atlantis was great to see too, and it was nice to see a SpaceX Falcon that had made 2 trips to space.

The earlier rockets were also fascinating.  Here I am with a Titan II launcher with a Gemini capsule on the top.  It's surprisingly small.  The Mercury Redstone that put the first US astronaut in space (suborbital) is just shockingly small.  Terrifying.  It's just implausible to me any human would feel climbing into a tiny capsule on top of that overgrown firework was a good idea!  Wow.

A LOT of iconic technology here, which I really appreciated seeing up close.

A really enjoyable visit.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.