Desert Squirrel

By PolS

Colorado National Monument

I don't think that I've been here in overcast conditions before, although I've camped here many times. Only a quick overnight this time, as I am being chased by a storm and it is predicted to get very windy. I'd rather not be in my tent when it blows really hard..

I discovered that it is now (since 1 April) necessary to book through Recreation.gov, and what a performance that turned out to be. Of course, reception is poor here whatever service you have, so I ended up giving up and going the the Visitor Center. Very helpful staff got me sorted with their wifi, and worked out that I was booked even though the website apparently rejected my credit card. I think this has changed from last year, but now iit seems that in addition to everything else, you need to know the length of your vehicle, even if it is an ordinary car. At least there were plenty of spaces, even with Loop C not open yet.

The sun did come out again in the evening, so nice light on the rocks for a brief while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.