Annieone

By Annieone

Castletown House…!!

Off on a mini ‘Skite’ today with my friend to visit this beautiful house ….Irelands largest Palladian Mansion…..and this is what we found…all locked up and major renovations going on..!!  I hadn’t checked their Website:))….however,  we walked the ‘long avenue ‘ into the village of Celbridge and of course to make up for our ‘disappointment’ coffee & cake had to be had..!!
There are over 500 acres of parklands with the river Liffey flowing through it so it’s a wonderful amenity for this village to have on its doorstep..
This is house is now managed by the State ..Heritage Ireland OPW…(Office  of Public Works) and they do a marvellous job maintaining it..
We have been there before but they have totally upgraded the interior so we are looking forward to going back again..
Extra of the beautiful clipped hedges at the front of the entrance…
My other extra is my Christmas gift from my friend …a Heritage Ireland Pass Card which will allow me free entry to all the many fantastic sights they have around the country….and will only be activated from the first day I use it til a full year from then..!!
So,  many ‘Skites’ planned…!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.