Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Crossing a Bridge: Architecture

Lausanne is a very hilly city and there are many bridges, steps and hills to climb up and then down again.

I took a bus partway downtown and then crossed a bridge leading towards the Lausanne Cathedral. My favourite part is seeing the blue sky through the openings of the tower. I then walked through part of the old town over cobbled streets and into the pedestrian streets to do my marketing.

I took a wider view of this iconic Gothic styled building (in the extras), but what bothers me, aesthetically speaking, is the way wide angle shots make everything look as if it's leaning towards the centre. So that is why it's not my main shot.  There is always some kind of work on the facade as the type of molassic stone that was used to build the cathedral crumbles over time and has to be renewed and treated.

Fabulous warm weather today, 22C, and blue skies. I was too warm in my light jacket.

I have no social plans this weekend, but I have plenty to do and will take some lovely walks. Honey is well occupied on the balcony among my flower pots, watching the bees on my flowers and the birds on the nearby tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.