That Will Do!

By flumgummery

5000 up???

Edit:

It seems my mathematical skills are worse than I thought. As has been pointed out, this is NOT my 5000th blip but merely my 4745th... so I have removed the erroneous celebratory one and left the little lambs. Even with the backplips  in place I shall not reach this target for some time. For those who have already read and commented, I apologise and have italicised the original text by way of explanation of the above.

In order to celebrate my 5000th blip we took ourselves to Dawyck Garden, confident of finding something with the required number. I had in mind, as a very last resort, another photo of millefiore paperweights or even five 'M's but surely here we would find something more interesting.



We enjoyed coffee and scones in the revamped café, bumping into friends from the Borders for a brief chat but, before we had finished came the message that the garden was closed as Storm Kathleen gathered up her skirts and came dashing through, threatening all in her path. We had not even set foot in the garden. What to do?



As our default activity, we drove to Peebles but found the carpark full of fairground trucks and rides, however we found a roadside spot to park while a tour of most of the charity shops took place. Despite the wind whipping along the swollen river there were swallows (or martins) circling above, while the ducks kept themselves close to the banks. But, as luck would have it, Mr Flum noticed a registration plate which, suitably inverted and messed about a bit slightly altered might, to a generous viewer, represent the magic number.



There were many lambs in the fields, either too far away for photographs or with no safe place to stop but along our route home along the Lamancha road came an opportunity to pause and admire lambs and their careful mothers, good enough for a blip once the wire fence had been cropped out.



I love Blip: there are so many talented and friendly Blippers to watch and meet and, although I shall never match their skills, it has taught me how to tweak photographs to improve or present them as I would wish.



Oh, and one day (or several) I really, really will backblip the holiday photos, so don't be surprised if suddenly I appear to be abroad while still in my own back room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.