David J. Rose

By djrose007

A close call!

On Thursday night Harriet (Hetty) put an enveloped note under her pillow with her tooth that had come out while we were at the Gloucestershire Wildlife Trust event at Robinswood Hill.
She was quite excited about the Tooth Fairy visiting in the night, as excited as Christmas when they expect Father Christmas to call.
Friday morning she came into my bedroom crying, envelope clutched in her little hand. The Tooth Fairy had not come in the night, she was so disappointed, devastated even.
I explained that it will be because of Easter, with all of the children eating so much chocolate their teeth had come out so she was just too busy to get around to everyone. Truth is, of course, we'd forgotten to do it.
She calmed down after a while when she was convinced the Fairy would come the next night.
I went to bed and woke at 0700 - realised I hadn't put any money under the pillow! PANIC!!!!!
I crept into their room, gently slid my hand underneath the pillow to get the envelope and went back to my room to get a coin.
I very quickly realised I didn't have an envelope in my hand, it was the Tooth Fairies written message to Hetty! I had to then go back in and even more gently slide the letter back under her pillow along with a £1.00 coin, and then I felt something else - it was a £2.00 coin.
It was Marlane of course who had written the letter and left the £2.00 but I'd not seen her FB Messenger message telling me she'd done it. I just panicked when I realised I hadn't.
Well done Marlane, she saved the day yet again and Hetty came into my room, where I was pretending to be asleep, very excited about the letter and the £2.00. I read the letter to her and she was thrilled, and loved the hearts and stars on the letter.
Oh, the innocence of a child, isn't it wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.