Please hold that pose

Another full day's meeting today and as usual I ate my sandwiches sitting on a bench at the nearby park. Whereas several geese and goslings kept me company last week., this time I only saw handful of adults and just one goslings. I assume that the others were probably at the other side of the pond where I'd seen them before.

While I was eating I heard the very distinctive sound of a Little Grebe. It's a very distinctive sound that you cannot mistake for anything else. I thought I'd seen one in that area once before but that time it had disappeared under water before I could get closer to have a better look and it didn't reappear. This time I had more luck as one dove and surfaced again several times before swimming off again. I was able to follow its sound for a while and at some point I spotted what looked and sounded like another one with some chicks in the distance. Unfortunately I only had the compact camera with me and they were too far away to get a good shot of them. I'm considering taking a camera with more zoom with me next week if I can fit it into my already quite full bag.

While I was watching the Little Grebes, something dropped quite close in front of me and when I looked up I saw a Heron sitting at the top of a dead tree. It flew off only seconds later though. I consider myself very lucky that I hadn't been standing right under it! Walking back I also spotted a Moorhen that seemed to be working on a nest. Unfortunately the compact camera's battery decided to die just when I tried to take a photo of it.

I had very little sleep last night. Not so much because of the mosquito as I managed to squash that, but because I couldn't find my tram/bus pass and I had so spend a few hours searching for it. I eventually found it in the bag where it should have been and where I'd already looked for it 3 times! I'd obviously managed to miss it each time.

A big thank you for the lovely comments and stars on my pink orchid blip from yesterday. As always they are very much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.