JohnW

By JohnW

When one runs out of gin and vodka . . .

One has to improvise . . .
 
 
I trust that Admirer would have approved.
 
Many thanks to DavidC for organising, and ApolloFly for hosting this month’s tribute to Admirer.
 
 
Today has been hectic to say the least, hence me not posting this until tomorrow.   It started with me fixing our new external wall mounted letter box.  We had to give in as the internal ‘Velcro’ fixed mail catcher that we fitted to stop Biskit date-stamping the mail rapidly became ineffective.   On the approach of the postman the first thing Biskit would do was pull off the catcher so he could get at the post as it came through . . .  !!   More on the external mailbox to follow I expect.  A saga in itself.
 
 
The  main event of the day was our friend’s (the ‘Outlaws’) Diamond Wedding Anniversary ‘afternoon tea’, with their family and half of Rippingale in attendance (slight exaggeration). I was elected ‘Official Photographer’  (cheap – well free as it’s in the family!).  The daughter and family were heavily involved in setting it all up, and clearing up afterwards, with, according to our daughter just before we left, a lot of help in clearing up the left-over wine . . . !
 
Anyway I enjoyed myself immensely, even though it left me exhausted (I’m getting old you know).  I haven’t ‘done a do’ for some sixty years.  Back then we had to be a bit more careful with the number of extra shots you took, but the ‘works’ photography department (Pressed Steel Company) provided me with flashbulbs and film so it wasn’t too bad.  I was still an apprentice back then, and a member of the newly formed ‘Photographic Club’.
 
I do enjoy ‘candid’ photography, but if you do that these days in can stir up all sorts, but not with a private function.  I’ve only got 210 shots to thin out . . .
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.