misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Summer Reds

Beginning now into week II of mostly rain, sprinkles, downpours, spells of sunbreaks, followed by rain.
The birds are out eating chattering and being birds no matter the wet. the third nest of house finches fledged this morning and two of them tried to get into the house-- just like their name.
I was glad to discover Diana blooming today in the heap of clematis vines. Her companion, Gravetye, has been showing off its deep red flowers for a week now, but shy Diana--pink and white in the lower right, has opened her buds today.
The rain spots do not bother them.
This spring, after the pruned vines got going, I observed how huge and tangled the plants have become. I consulted my cleaning woman, who is also a 'certified master' gardener for our central NY region about moving and dividing the two plants. "No! You can never move clematis!"
Yikes. I have nothing built right now to support the tall thick vines with flowers that go right to the first frost.
So, I stuck a round of wire caging and an iron arbour over the pussy willow tree for them to climb on. Then I went to consult Google to get a second or third opinion.
Well, yes, they are very difficult to move. Brittle roots deep in the soil... It seems one has to sneak up on them after they are asleep. So in fall I shall make big hole to replant them. I'll build a screening trellis for them to climb on where I would like to screen the yard from the street. They may leave a few roots behind to make other beautiful vines. I always think the Diana was named after popular Lady Diana. Gravetye is an old English variety, I think, but am not sure. Their growing 15 feet tall is challenging for me. This type (3) seems to grow that much each year after being pruned down.
It's July and the temperatures should be red hot. This week for us they are 30ºC to 33ºC even with the nightly and daily rain. That makes a humid-muggy 86ºF to 90ºF of heavy wetness.
Everything in the garden is growing like crazy... oh, and the river has been out of its banks for a week. It is threatening to come over the highway into my neighbourhood. An annual event, no problem for me, really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.