All clean!

Another horrendous day outside, torrential rain and 50+mph gales for the last 24hours. So it wasn't a day to be in the garden!
Since our horrid coal stove has gone I've been cleaning the kitchen to remove as many remnants of its black dust as possible. I'm not sure I'll ever get rid of it all it feels like a mammoth task! Yesterday I vacuumed floor and carpets and washed all the chairs and tables, white goods and surfaces. 
Today I took everything off the pantry shelves, cleaned every item and then put it all back. It was a chance to throw out anything past its best and bring a semblance of order. It was a horrible mucky job but very satisfying when it was finished, especially knowing that although it will get dusty again, that black stuff has gone!
I have just one more area to tackle. Beneath the cooker and the sink I only have curtains,  no cupboard doors, as they are both supported with stainless steel frames. I have new recycled fabric to make fresh curtains, so I will remove the old, take everything out, clean it and the shelves, then replace it all gleaming with new curtains. It sounds so simple and it is, but I know it will be really mucky and take much longer than I expect! Hopefully it will never be as black again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.