Finding My Bearings

By JustJuli

A quacking day out!

Spent a lovely few hours exploring the gardens at Sheffield Park. There were lots of duck-themed activities in honour of Spring and we saw several real ducks and other water fowl sitting on nests. Should be full of little babies soon!

The best bit was that many of the rhododendrons were out. When I was about six and living in the US, I read a book about a girl who discovered a magical place underneath the rhododendrons in her garden. I loved the book - and have often wished I could find it again - but had never seen a rhododendron and had some difficulty visualising how you could play under a shrub. I don’t remember ever seeing one until I moved to Sussex when I was thirty-six, as they won’t grow where I used to live, and it all made sense.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.