forward planning

I was sure that I'd moved my emergency emergency shirt and trousers from their bag tucked on top of my filing cabinet onto a hook on one of the hatstands when we moved desks last year and lost the right to a permanent desk of our own, though when I looked around a bit last week I couldn't find them and had assumed them to be lost. I therefore had to briefly consider either scootling back home to pick up my shirts and trousers when I got into the changing room and remembered not putting them back in my bag after lifting them out to pack my flask or making do with my just-about-office-compatible flaxen Friday trousers after popping to a nearby shop to buy another packet of shirts. The former would be irritating as I'd already spent five minutes standing outside the door cooling down and had managed to get in quite early whilst the latter would involve either being quick and getting ripped off or getting the sort of shirts I usually get (albeit not in a sale) but taking longer. Fortunately, a desperate rootle around the back of my locker revealed not only my spare normal office trousers but also my emergency emergency shirt, last ironed about two years ago before it was moved permanently into the workplace and looking a little battered from the last twelve months' squishing but still clean and wearable, though the whole point of the emergency emergency shirt was that it should apply to either of the emergencies of short-forgetting or locker-key-forgetting, which really requires a shirt neither in the locker nor the lockable cabinet in which my bits of office-paper are kept, as both locker and cabinet keys are kept together and an emergency of forgetting them might conceivably occur in the absence of one of the other known keyholders of the same cupboard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.