Desperately seeking

By clickychick

The Grandparent

We're down in the land of the Not-So-Little Tykes. They had picked up some second-hand books in the modern Ladybird series. The one we chose to look at today was "How it works - The Grandparent".

Gone were Janet and John. They were replaced by Connor, Emily, Rachel and Viola. Every page gave a humorous insight into the life of an older person so I explained things as we went through it, between laughs!

"Every morning Edward takes his blood pressure pills, his statins, his anti-inflammatories......." well, we do take 5 or 6 tablets each, just to keep us going.

"...curators of G-Plan funriture." Now they needn't make fun, I loved G-Plan and, had I had plenty of money in the 70's, I would have had its sleek lines throughout my house!

"Retirement is an exhausting job".

Every page had truth in it, so why was it so funny? We grew up in a very different world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.