Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

Starter

Its rained heavily for most of the day so as I didn't need to go out I just stayed at home and got on with a few chores.  

I wrapped some gifts and put them into a box ready for posting. I refilled all the bird feeders - and got wet in the process.  Did a load of washing which was hung up in the utility room.

Then I set about using the item in my blip shot.  A few weeks ago one of the fluorescent tubes in the kitchen decided to " play up".  When I switched it on it took around 5 mins for the tube to light up.  Then last week the other tube just kept flickering and wouldn't light up at all.  I wasn't sure if the tubes needed replacing or the starters... so I ordered some starters first to see if they would solve the problems.

When I checked online I found starters costing around £ 2 for one --- or multipacks of different sizes and prices - all were a much cheaper option then buying singly.  I needed two different kinds of starter so I ordered a 6 pack of one type ( cost £4.50 ) and 10 of the other ( cost £3).  They came today so I got the big stepladders out and replaced the starter on the tube that was taking ages to light..... and it was a success.......  immediate light.  However when I replaced the starter on the other tube it still flickered so it seems I need a new tube.

Thanks to JDO for hosting Tiny Tuesday.

Steps today - 3,318

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.