LesTension

By LesTension

TRACK & FIELD

I love Track & Field competitions but they're so hard to shoot all by myself. There's a lot of "hurry up and wait" while the athletes prepare themselves for their events.  Sometimes you expect to find an athlete in a certain venue but he/she's not there because of being elsewhere competing in a different event.  
~
So you miss a lot of stuff which is what happens when multiple events are happening simultaneously.  Ideally, I'd have 5 shooters there to cover all the events.......maybe 10.  But I work alone so it's all on my plate. 
~
What I've learned over the decades I've been doing this, it's best to pick a few events and stick with them (like shot put and discus) and then ignore that event at the next meet and concentrate on something else.  I cover it all but over a span of several events.  The problem is.....I also have softball, baseball, soccer, swimming and golf to deal with.  I'm pretty busy.
~
This fella lives just down the block from me....I've known him since he was in diapers.  I had both his parents as students back in the day.  He is likely the best athlete our little school has ever produced.....there's nothing he's not good at.  Totally coordinated no matter the sport.....and wicked smart!  He picks up things very quickly and you never have to tell him anything twice.  I've never had him in class because I'm retired but teachers I know say he's a dream in the classroom as well and he has proved it by being elected to the National Honor Society..  Here he is winning the 110m High hurdles; he also won the 300m Intermediate hurdles. Also competes in the 200m sprint, the long jump, 100m sprint and the discus throw....and did very well in all of them.  I don't know because I was elsewhere but I'd bet cash money he won both the 100m and 200m sprints as well.  The kid has it all.
~
GIVE LARGE A CHANCE...if you have the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.