fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Hebden Bridge

Oddly, neither of us can quite remember whether we decided to come to Hebden Bridge because our friends Ruth and Keith were going to a festival in nearby Tormorden, or whether we'd already decided to go and that was just a happy coincidence.

Either way, we arrived this afternoon, a little later than planned as the Minx is so busy with work at the moment, but no so much so that we were in a rush.

Later on, we enjoyed the five minute train journey to Todmorden, where we met up with Ruth and Frank for dinner, which was lovely; I'm very fond of them both. And after that we went 'round to The Golden Lion, where, as I understand it, Andy Weatherall's brother runs this annual festival in memory of his brother. 

I was looking forward to it, especially as I understood that David Holmes was going to be DJing, which I thought might be interesting, but, well, let's just say it was all a bit of a disappointment. 

It's a funny thing, I'm not averse to loud music, and there is a lot of music I love that is in some way repetitive, but I simply can't stand club music. 

But, in fairness, there were a lot of people there and they all seemed to be having a great time. (And I feel a bit bad that I think that the Minx might have enjoyed it, too, if she hadn't been aware of how much I wasn't...)

Anyway, consequently, there was no photo from the evening, but fortunately I'd taken a photo earlier in the day to show Hannah the view from our room. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.