Edisteve

By edisteve

Let’s bank on it

While driving around this morning I listened to an interesting piece on ‘You and Yours’ on Radio 4, which discussed the demise of physical bank branches on many high streets. 

There was particular discussion on Bakewell in Derbyshire and Knaresborough in North Yorkshire neither of which have physical banks now. That said, Knaresborough has a Banking Hub, which seems to be working well, so maybe that’s the answer.

It just makes me appreciate the four banks that our town still has, including the Royal Bank of Scotland which is still housed in its original building from 1934, which is now listed as a Category B building.

Though, I use my banking app all the time, I will always go to a physical branch to speak to a ‘real’ person when I want to do a piece of important banking, which is maybe because I trust them more than a voice on a phone who could be a scammer. 

Call me old fashioned and I am proud of this. 

Have a good day all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.