Today's the day

By sheilwill

Erythronium californicum 'White Beauty'

Today's the day ........................ to get wet

I can't imagine that these lovely little erythroniums are at all pleased with the sort of weather they've had to put up with recently.

They belong to the lily family - although apparently they are also quite closely related to tulips.  They are indigenous in the main to North America and this particular one originated from Northern California, where the climate would be much more to their liking.

But thank goodness they do grow here - and without much attention from me.  I remembered that I had planted them a couple of years ago in this particular spot and so I went to look for them today despite the fact that it was pouring with rain.  And I was delighted to find them, albeit a bit bedraggled-looking.  

Perhaps the sun will shine tomorrow ....................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.