K9tam

By K9tam

Not Easy.

An early morning start today to get down to Somerset. Hayley and I had agreed to meet my nephew to help him clear his parents house. Although my sister died nearly 6 years ago, and her husband 18 months ago, the situation is quite complicated. He's a 'vulnerable adult' , somewhere (undiagnosed officially) on the autistic spectrum. Luckily he's in adult foster care with an amazing family.

Both her children (half brother and sister) are adopted. Sadly his sister has turned her back on us all.

It was quite overwhelming being in her home, and even though we were close it felt intrusive going through her things. There were a few tears shed, but also a few laughs at old photographs. I'm quite good at compartmentalising in my head, but I found the book from the children in her class wishing her to 'Get Well Soon' far too sad, and decided it couldn't be kept.

The images are of her beautiful front door, and one of the many bookcases in her house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.