Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Yes, I CAN

I managed to get the USB CAN adapter working and I’m now able to monitor the messages that are sent from my central heater. So far, I can’t make heads or tails of the data. One message is just an increasing number which counts from 0 to 255 before starting over again. Not very useful. Another message also seems to be counting something, but I can’t figure out what that is. So far, I have yet to discover anything sensible like temperatures, pressure or the mode of operation (idle, central heating, hot water). I’m not very hopeful, but even if I can’t use this I’ve still learned quite a bit and had some fun while doing so. One thing worth mentioning is that I made sure I did not use the 24V coming out of one of the six wires. No electronics got fried in the process, unlike what happened in my previous attempt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.