Indy653

By Indy653

Saigon - Ho Chi Minh City

Early flight to Saigon - hot, bustling and much more western than Hanoi.  Lots of tourists - this is a country populated by mainly young people, eager to embrace the future.  We are staying in the Saigon Continental, a hotel built by the French, low rise and beautiful and opposite the Opera House.
Upon arrival we rushed out to buy water, get money from the ATM but on heading back to the hotel I fell off a high pavement onto my face. Totally my own fault - I had been trying to open my water while walking.  Long story short, I missed the afternoon tour.  My friends asked a lovely female Irish GP, who is part of our group, to look me over.  I had ice packs, tablets and a good rest.  I felt very guilty bothering her, as I am the wife of a late GP who spent lots of time on holiday dealing with tourist problems - but she was very kind and reassuring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.