JoppaStrand

By JoppaStrand

Portobello Beach Edinburgh Day 307

Get all your ducks in a row

I always have a chuckle when I hear these business babble phrases. I have never been impressed by words without genuine deeds to accompany them.

These ducks, dutifully, lined up for me, having flown in in an even more photogenic formation that was too quick for me or my camera. They were almost the only distinguising features on a warm but flat grey day. The sea was flat. The sky seemed to flatten it further. It was an appropriate day, in some ways, to find my first jellyfish on the sand. Fin d'ete for this one but a sign that the sea is finally warming up and the jelly fish are wobbling their way coastwards just in time for unwary paddling holidaymakers. (It is the traditional trades holiday fortnight here and everywhere does seem very quiet except our city airport that has been working overtime to fly everyone off to even warmer seas and blue sky holidays!

The oil tanker skulking on the horizon is NS Century, flying a Liberian flag. waiting on the call to collect 60000 tons of Scottish crude from Hound Point.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.