Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

Cherry blossom Day 1

I met Chris in Alnwick to take her as my guest to see the cherry blossom at Alnwick Garden. The queue of cars waiting to access the car park went all the way up to the town. It’s Easter holidays and there’s a gross plastic themed playpark costing £15 per child plus a paying adult also £15. Locals go once and never again as it’s not great. And the Duchess got a regeneration fund grant to build it. On the upside I bought my annual garden ticket last year when the blossom was late so I get 2 seasons for the price of one. I only bought it because I had so many visitors coming last year so it was worth it.

The email to say the blossom was out only came this week and already it’s dropping - there’s been so much heavy rain. It’s mild today and dry but still a grey sky.

This afternoon I went for the 2 hour round trip to Wansbeck to get my nose checked. It’s still not right but I have permission to remove the dressing in a couple of days then put Vaseline on it 3 times a day.

Tonight we’ll watch Race Across the World. It starts in Japan - that’ll make me want to go back as we only had 3 weeks there.

Jo sent pix from Afghanistan. She’s having a great time. She’s in Herat at the moment. The local women are wearing headscarves but no burkas. She’s with Young Pioneers - when she asked me if I’d like to go I enquired and they said I was too old. Now she finds there’s an 81 year old woman in her group.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.