rossmackenzie

By rossmackenzie

A Story

Some of you may have spotted that I keep pitching up in a rather picturesque wee Italian spa town in the Val Camonica in Lombardy, and I’ve been a bit vague about why.

And since today is World Parkinson’s Day, it seems like the right time to say more.

In April 2022 I was diagnosed with Parkinson’s Disease, and shortly afterwards (via a friend of a friend) I was told about the European Parkinson Therapy Centre in Boario Terme.

My first visit to the Centre (locally called the REGEN Centre) was in April 2023, then again in Autumn 2023 and I’m now back again for some more individual neurotherapy, or pampering as I prefer to describe it.

Parkinson’s Disease is the fastest growing neurological condition world-wide, there are about 160,000 diagnosed cases in the UK, so you probably know some one with it, even if they’ve not yet been diagnosed.  

There is (currently) no cure, but there are meds to help with the (many) symptoms and there are lots of research programs looking at ways of slowing (or even reversing) the progression.   There are also a few therapy centres which help with both the physical and psychological challenges that Parkinson’s presents.  

I can’t speak highly enough of the people and the approach at the REGEN Centre - I always get energised by my time at the Centre, so you can expect to see more pictures from Boario  Terme over the next few years (there are some extras taken around town today).

7049

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.