Technophobe

By Technophobe

Noon Fly

It was quite a spring like day today with a reasonably warm afternoon. I went for a walk with my camera and took mainly macro photos because there were such a lot of interesting flowers and bugs around whereas the landscape possibilities were  a bit  underwhelming.
I saw these flies on a wooden stile and  my I-pad information button thingy tells me it’s a mesembrina meridiana . Spend their lives wallowing around in cow poo apparently, laying eggs which turn into larvae which eat other larvae. They arrived  from Asia as the result of a failed attempt in the USA as a biological pest control experiment. 
They gobble up our native ladybird larvae too so they’re not all good news.
It’s been tried before and it doesn’t always end well.

https://amp.theguardian.com/environment/2021/dec/01/country-diary-the-unenviable-life-of-the-noon-fly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.