Anniemay

By Anniemay

Mystery Object

This is my mystery object. I know that all mothers keep mementos of their offsprings' childhood and I'm no exception. A bonnet, a bootee, a favourite toy may be among the things you might expect a mother to keep, but this is one of my most cherished reminders of my eldest son's childhood years. It reminds me of endless hours spent standing in the open air in muddy fields often getting rained on but never minding at all. It reminds me of a boy's love of something that might have turned into a career but even though it didn't, taught him about commitment, teamwork, effort and respect, all of which have served him well in the career he finally ended up in and in his everyday life.

Who would have thought it? This rugby stud is almost bringing tears to my eyes as I write.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.