Sprout lover

By robharris35

Peanut

For lunch I ate some chicken with peanut sauce which reminded me of my very first visit to Mozambique in 2004. On that trip it seemed to be the predominant cuisine, so I had the lasting impression that peanut sauce came with everything in Mozambique. I’ve encountered it only a couple of times in the intervening two decades, so my impression was incorrect. However, it remains tasty despite the infrequent consumption.

Other events today were my bag breaking, seeing a dead pigeon in a dustbin and being reminded of urban Covid-era decay. As in cities around the world, Maputo has these faded ‘use of masks is mandatory’ signs scattered around. Pray we never return to a cycle of lockdowns and sheepish darts to the shop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.