Living my dream

By Mima

Whimsical walk

On a whim I piled Bean into the car mid-morning and we headed to Bortons Pond for a second walk of the week there. This is the outfall over a small weir next to the ford over which vehicles can drive - and across which I have waded on days warmer than this one.

The clouds were low, but the rain held off (and has done so all day, rather infuriatingly) and we had our usual lovely time there. We met not one person, nor any dogs. 

Large trout cruised in the clear water, all sorts of ducks paddled and flew in formation here and there, shags perched on look-out branches over the water, and a mob of Royal spoonbills glided (glid?) overhead en route for their daytime roost in the dead willow trees.

Bean ran and ran and ran, doing impressive hand-break turns periodically when she overran a particularly good smell. It really is her happy place. 

Later on this afternoon she wasn't quite so happy when she had severe vomiting after she'd eaten a couple of walnuts. Oh dear Beanio. Almost before I'd realised what she'd been doing, she began heaving - and there ensued a protracted 10 minutes of sickness as she ejected absolutely everything that had been on her insides, outside onto the grass. 

Then she gave me a relieved look, wagged her tail and pottered off to her water bucket for a fill-up. Since then she's been curled up (on MY chair) sleeping it off. I gave the vet a quick call to make sure there was nothing else that I should do, and am reassured that all is likely to be well, although it will be a simple rice-based supper for Ms Bean tonight. 

And I'll keep a special eye on her of course...

As for yesterday's rain. I woke this morning convinced we'd had 10mm at most and was surprised to find 24.5mm in the gauge. Evidently I slept very soundly as it lashed down overnight, for I didn't hear a thing. 

It isn't going to lift the drought, although it will ease things for a few days. I am thankful for it. And doubly thankful to have missed the overwhelming deluges that other parts of the country have been experiencing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.