fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Around Castlefield

It was only as I told people what we were doing tonight that I realised that Underworld are not as well known as I thought. 

"Are those the 'Born Slippy' people?" was a common response, and I guess most people do know them from that song's appearance in 'Trainspotting'. 

I wasn't a particular fan of that track (although I love the film), but I did like Underworld's 'Drift' project; that was much more up my street. 

Anyway, despite my reservations about the venue, I thought it might be interesting to see them play live, so I bought tickets to go along this evening. 

Doors were at seven o'clock, with Underworld's first set at eight. Having experienced the queuing system at Aviva Studios before, we arrived just before the performance was due to start, thinking most people would be in by then. In fact, with ten minutes to go, there were, by my reckoning, a couple of thousand people still waiting to enter the building. 

Well, sod that.

So we wandered around Castlefield Locks until we arrived at Barça, where it was just warm enough to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine, while grumbling about Aviva: a venue run by people who don't appear to have ever been to any gigs.

Having finished our drinks, we still weren't minded to return, so we carried on our walk, ending up in Atlas Bar, which has a covered veranda with heaters at the rear, thereby facilitating further al fresco wines. 

By now we were getting peckish, so we went along Liverpool Road to The Fish Hut, bought fish and chips, and then went to eat them in Castlefield Bowl. Bliss.

It was getting on for ten o'clock, so, having skipped the DJ set, we went back to Aviva to see the second half of Underworld's performance.

I have to say, without wishing to be relentless neggy about Aviva, that the Warehouse is one of the worst venues I've ever been to; basically, it's just a huge concrete hall. We found a spot about three-quarters of the way back, and I should say that everyone seemed to be having a blast. 

It wasn't my bag, though. Relentless bass drums with little subtlety, and I found myself wondering whether the rehearsals consisted of checking that the laptop was working.

Anyway, not the right gig for me, and definitely a venue that I will stay away from, but all the same, we had a wonderful evening!

PS If you do want to hear one sublime track by Underworld, this is 'Skym'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.