CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

BOY ON BICYCLE

This is a statue paying tribute to Sir Ridley Scott, alumnus of the local Art College, and his first film Boy on Bicycle, featuring his brother Tony Scott and filmed in and around Hartlepool in 1962. I'd read about this artwork somewhere recently and went to find it assuming it was recent. I think the gist of what I'd read was that it was hidden away in a corner and should be more prominent and indeed it was tucked at the end of the station car park, beside the railway line and below the level of the road, and unmarked. I was amazed that, according to the piece I've linked to, it was unveiled nearly six years ago, during which time I've used the station and the car park on numerous occasions and never noticed it.

The film can be seen here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.