IainatCreel

By IainatCreel

Bay of Ireland towards Hoy

Very blowy but dry a.m.  Sleety shooers p.m.  I went through into Kirkwall for messages.  While I was in the shop queue, there was a man in his seventies behind me.  Another man went past and the man behind me recognised him:
‘Whit like the day buey?  You’re lookin’ kina losst.  Are you lookin’ for the wife?’   ‘No buey, me wife bowt one of yon Harry Potter Invisible capes and she’s wi’ me a’ the time noo.’  Verbatim.  They were both very Kirkwall spoken.  I have not reported it well, but this is what happens when a Linguistics Experts meets a doyen of semasiologist in the under twenty five items queue.
 
Back at HQ and CMC had planted tatties and onion sets.  Harry set a PB by staying in the airing cupboard for 9hrs and 23 minutes.
 
Tomorrow is Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.