Lost in Thought

By steveng

Those Trees (again)

I had a happy hour or so with the drone this morning, trying to get a better idea of the active track (~follow me) modes and waypoints where the drone follows a preset route.  Still not sure about active track but the waypoints part worked ok.  Also managed to take off from and land back on my free hand.   I ran all three flight batteries down to the point where the drone announced it was auto returning and had ~20 minutes from each.  The quoted figure is 34 minutes, but that would be with perfect still conditions and no hovering.  I do spend a while with the drone hovering while I search through the menus. 
Tried an ND filter too which blipper and drone flier Graham Colling pointed me toward.

The track is used by dog walkers so I make sure to keep the drone away from them or landed as they go by.  One asked me about it and enjoyed seeing herself on the controller screen.  This is the only photo I took, while I was explaining I like the alternative viewpoint onto the trees.
I did think I might get a few grumpy comments but so far its all very positive.

In  the afternoon I had a grass mowing session at the church - avoiding the wildflower sections and rows of daffodils.  
I'll know I am getting confident with the drone when I can have it follow me about as I cut the grass.  Can't imagine anyone will hear it over the sound of the mower :-)

Gill has been at an eco printing art workshop all day - printing found leaves onto fabric - that might be tomorrow's blip.

Many thanks for the continued visits and awards on my Lincoln cathedral blip from Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.