jochimphuket

By jochimphuket

Photo Challenge Day #13: Laughter

One of the things that struck me about Songkran (the Thai New Year celebration, AKA the world's largest water fight) was that everyone I encountered was in extremely good spirits. There were more than enough people smiling and laughing to go around. In fact, this was my most enjoyable Songkran in many, many years -- no drunken people, nobody (save one) getting upset over water being sprayed at them or poured over their heads, no instances of "dirty" water, and everyone who tried to smear that awful paste on my face heeded my requests to not do so. I had my mobile phone encased in a plastic waterproof pouch and the photos actually came out very well. It was still difficult to capture constantly moving multitudes of people while attempting not to get a bucket of water dumped over my head as I took photos. This is probably the best of the bunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.