Living my dream

By Mima

Autumnal Sumac

I am relieved that my three small (for now) Sumac trees have survived the drought and are looking perfectly autumnal. 

I'm not keen on planting non-native trees, but occasionally something attracts me to them and overrides my purism. Anything that bears fruit or nuts that I can eat passes the test. And in the case of the Sumac it is this extraordinary foliage, which looks at its best right now.

Note that there is still the odd dahlia flower loitering in that bed too: also hanging on despite the dry.

The sun has come out again today and although I'd love more rain (we got a further 9mm yesterday) I am happy to have bathed in its warm balm today. 

Not much gardening has been happening: everything is dripping wet.

Patchwork has occupied me for much of the day because I looked in my diary and realised it has to go into the post in two days' time, unless I make a special trip into town later in the week just to mail it. That seems a bit above and beyond, so the pressure is on to complete it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.