CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Bilbergia nutans, in the cabin

Our Bilbergia nutans plant resides in the cabin for most of the year, being allowed out onto the patio for short periods to receive some direct sunlight.

I’m always rather surprised at how well it grows, flowers and seeds each year whilst also producing offshoots from its base which find space in the soil in the pot to grow successfully.

Once again this year, as I started to spend more time in the cabin when the weather encourages me to be outside more, I was taken aback yet again by the pink flowering stems which by now had flowers beginning to form. I particularly like them because they are one of the few plants I know which produce blue sections on parts of their flowers.

As I’d set up my tripod in the cabin to photograph some artwork for friends, I thought I’d quickly grab the first signs of the Bilbergia nutans’ flowers. They haven’t fully opened so I may return to record them at a later date, but in the meantime at least there is some blue in my blip if you look closely, best seen in ‘large’ view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.