photorat

By rat

Windermere from above

Having visited the museum fell-running exhibition yesterday today we went running.
It was an early start as we had to leave our accommodation and get to Hawkshead early enough to get parked, there was limited parking as the usual fields were too waterlogged (shuttle buses were provided but we thought having one car would be useful).
A bit of a wait until the early start 10k (which turned out to be nearly 12) and then I was off through muddy lanes and fields, plus plenty of puddles and a steep climb soon after halfway. Mr Rat and grandson no1 set off 15mins later and later overtook me.
Quite happy with my time as I was being cautious and 30mins later Mr Rat, daughter and I set off for the 16k. Same conditions underfoot but more windy and some short showers. There was also a lot more climbing with the same steep one 2/3 of the way through. (Son-in-law set out an hour later). The pic is about halfway through the 16k.
I did better than hoped and didn't lose much speed. Then get dry, warm and come home, arriving just before 10pm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.